Durango Independent Film Festival: Sex, Death and God Shorts Program

diff-bluefade_logo

Kinsee and I went down to the Abbey Theater last night to check out the first night of the 2009 Durango Independent Film Festival. Last night was the free preview night of the festival and we opted for the shorts program Sex, Death and God, nine comedy shorts on those themes.

I had never been to The Abbey before, and it was much smaller than I had expected. The recliners and tables up on the balcony were a nice touch. I can’t wait to see some live theater or a concert there.

The first short, Winston: An Informal Guide to Etiquette, wasn’t my cup of tea. It looked good, the acting wasn’t bad, but the story just wasn’t my thing. I was a little worried that I was in for eight more unfunny short films. Luckily that wasn’t the case. Below are a few of my favorites from the night — I won’t say much because I don’t want to give anything away.

Marooned? by Ryan Nagata was my favorite of the night. It had me laughing throughout. Ex-nerds with a sense of humor will laugh with it, everyone else will laugh at it.

Death In Charge by Devi Snively was a close runner up for my favorite. Death (The Grim Reaper) inadvertently becomes a gothic babysitter for a night.

I liked Denim and Jewsus also. Not amazing films, but not bad either. Both pretty funny.

The Party was funny at times, but I found it kind of uneventful, not bad just not a lot happening with it. It looked good, the quality of the filming and acting was good, I just didn’t like the story. It was also the only short I knew anything about going into thanks to seeing Leslie McManus, one of the actresses in the film twitter about it.

If you missed it last night the Sex, Death and God Shorts Program is playing again Saturday March 7 at the Abbey Theater at 9am. There’s also plenty of other promising films playing through Sunday. Check the schedule here.

2 responses to “Durango Independent Film Festival: Sex, Death and God Shorts Program

  1. Hey! This is Ryan Nagata, the guy that made “Marooned?” Thanks for the kind words. I google “Marooned?” constantly. That’s how I found your blog. I wish I could have gone to Durango!

  2. Hey!

    This is Jonathan Browning, I made The Party.

    Thanks for the mention. Of course I would like you to enjoy our short…but I am just tickled pink that you took the time to see it at all. Thanks for supporting independent filmmakers!

    I have to agree that Marooned was quite amazing and well crafted! Bully for you Mr. Nagata…Bully for you!

    Rock on!

    jonathan

Leave a Reply

