Happy Birthday Moustache!

Today my moustache is turning one year old! It’s been exactly a year since I was last clean shaven — I only trimmed the moustache once in this past year, but other than that just a comb and wax is all that touches it.

A year ago I was in Puerto Iguazu Argentina. I was visiting the falls on the Argentine side one day, and going to the Brazilian side the next. While laying around the hostel that night between the two trips I got the bright idea to shave off my beard so later it would look like I’d been to Iguazu/Iguaçu Falls at two different times in my life. So I pulled out the razor and started shaving. Beards have come and gone in the past year, but that hair above my upper lip that we affectionately refer to as a moustache has been with me the whole time.

Below is a photo time line of the first year in my moustache’s life.

One of the Last Pictures Before I Shaved, Iguazu Falls, Argentina

One of the Last Pictures Before I Shaved. Iguazu Falls, Argentina. Feb 2008

The Day After Shaving. Iguaçu Falls, Brazil

The Day After Shaving. Iguaçu Falls, Brazil. Feb 2008

Scruffy -- A Moustache is Born. Florianopolis, Brazil

Scruffy -- A Beard is Born. Florianopolis, Brazil. Feb 2008

Hammock, Beer and Beard. Salvador, Brazil

Hammock, Beer and Beard. Salvador, Brazil. Mar 2008

This Beard is Getting Out of Control. San Diego, CA

This Beard is Getting Out of Control. San Diego, CA. April 2008

A Moustache is Born. San Diego, CA. Apr 2008

A Moustache is Born. San Diego, CA. April 2008

The Moustache is Coming Along. Santa Cruz, CA. May 2008

The Moustache is Coming Along. Santa Cruz, CA. May 2008

Dressed Up in the Redwoods at Jason and Sarah's Wedding. Redwood National Park, CA. June 2008

Dressed Up in the Redwoods at Jason and Sarah's Wedding. Redwood National Park, CA. June 2008

Fourth of July. Bayfield, CO. July 2008

Fourth of July. Bayfield, CO. July 2008

Swollen Eye. Lake Marie, Sierra Nevada, CA. July 2008

Swollen Eye. Lake Marie, Sierra Nevada, CA. July 2008

Dressed as Richard Brautigan on Halloween. San Diego, CA. October 2008

Dressed as Richard Brautigan on Halloween. San Diego, CA. October 2008

The Beard is Coming Back. Tecate, BC, Mexico. Nov 2008

The Beard is Coming Back. Tecate, BC, Mexico. Nov 2008

Horseback. La Mision, BC, Mexico. Nov 2008

Horseback. La Mision, BC, Mexico. Nov 2008

Frozen Beard and Moustache in the Snow. Bayfield, CO. Dec 2008

Frozen Beard and Moustache. Bayfield, CO. Dec 2008

With On of My Moustache Heroes. San Diego, CA. Jan 2009.

With One of My Moustache'd Heroes. San Diego, CA. Jan 2009.

With my Christmas Present from Kinsee. Painting by Ryan Tannascoli. Jan 2009

With my Christmas Present from Kinsee. Painting by Ryan Tannascoli. Jan 2009

4 responses to “Happy Birthday Moustache!

  1. Hey MR Moustache!
    I was searchin for Moustache! images in google and I found your pic :D

    your Moustache! is so usefullllll for me …..:)

    I wana ask u if I could use your Moustache! pic in one of my desings….

  2. Hello ^_^ I came across one of your pictures on google while searching for scruffy beards, and i’d like to know if you’ be alright with me uploading a photo of you (The one where you just have scruff) onto this facebook fan page?

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Scruffy-Faces/127262937296525?ref=mf

  3. No problem Greta. If you can please link back to this post, but if you can’t it’s not a big deal.

Leave a Reply

