Cooking and Blogging

Open faced tofu and nopales burrito with refried beans and grilled peppers

Open faced tofu and nopales burrito with refried beans and grilled peppers

I’ve been told that I don’t blog enough. It’s just that I usually don’t have much to write about out here on the internet for everyone to see.

I do however cook a lot, I don’t get too fancy, and use a lot of canned ingredients, but I really enjoy cooking. Usually making fairly simple (but delicious) meals from whatever is laying around. I didn’t like cooking until I moved in a co-op and cooked with a friend and housemate once a week for about 20 people. Neither of us had any idea what we were doing, but we just experimented, never set our goals too high, and everything always turned out ok.

One night while making dinner, Kinsee suggested that I blog about the meals I make. I thought this was a pretty good idea, so we took a picture before we ate. Well, a few meals later I’m finally getting around to writing about one. I’m not going to give exact recipes, because I feel following a recipe takes all the fun out of cooking. Nor am I going to give measurements, because I never measure anything. But hopefully if you’re sitting there hungry and in need of a little inspiration, these posts might give you motivation to get in the kitchen and experiment.

This meal was pretty simple, but turned out great.

The beans and peppers were the easiest part. Add a can of chopped chillies (juice and all) to a can of refried beans to give them a little more flavor.

The peppers, the type of which slips my mind right now (ok I’m a terrible food blogger, I’ll try to get better at this) are cut in half and sauteed in a bit of olive oil with some Mexican seasoning and lime juice.

As for the burrito. Saute some onions and garlic in olive oil until they’re brown. Add fresh nopales cut into 2 inch strips. Season with Mexican seasoning. Add some cubes of firm tofu, some more seasoning and juice a lime or two onto the whole thing. Cook it over medium heat until the nopales are tender and the tofu is slightly browned.

Warm a couple tortillas up on the stove. Cover the tortillas with the tofu and nopales. Add some chopped tomatoes and shredded pepper jack cheese and garnish with cilantro. Cover it in your favorite salsa or hot sauce.

Now you’ve got yourself a pretty good meal, fairly healthy and not too pricey, in about 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

